I haven't been blogging in Stello Blog for nearly a month as I still haven't found the energy to start working on that database problem (caused by the poorest of all hosts..). So, before May, I might as well blog something about April. If anyone understands Finnish, check out my Finnish blog for much more..

I've been helping H with her homework and reading / writing. She's 9yo, and moved here from Sri Lanka, last November. Having spoken no English back then, she speaks it really well now! Reading and writing are more difficult, though, which is no surprise when you've first learned it in Sinhalese (see an example of their beautiful writing..). However, she's been progressing at reading, and I'm hoping that when she reaches the level where she can actually enjoy reading, it might help her writing as well - getting familiar with more and more words.. We started a little notebook diary as well, but I think she's lost it. So, maybe we'll start another one and keep it here. I can then give it to her when it's full. I was thinking that not only would it improve her writing, but when she's a bit older and all fluent with English, she might enjoy browsing her first diaries and seeing how much she's improved over the years =)

H's mother S is a close friend of my friend R, who is also Sri Lankan. R has actually just gone to Sri Lanka (yesterday!), with her own daughter, little R. They'll be there for two months and I'm already missing them!

Anyway, it's going to be Doctor Who time soon, so this'll have to do for now..